Home > Uncategorized > Donald Douglas, web oddity

Donald Douglas, web oddity

I strongly dislike it when Eaglespeak strays from its core mission to editorialise about geopolitics.

Donald Douglas, though (with a name that sounds like a pseudonym for the war machine – like Ray Theo Gruman or something) is a whole nother issue. I was distracted almost immediately from his wingnuttery by the sidebar on the right. Anti-Obama stuff, red-baiting, bikini babe. Well, that’s not an uncommon cocktail among self-identified right-wingers on the web, and there’s probably a paper to be written on politically-inflected gender performance somewhere in there. Fine. Ads, ads ads ads ads punks ads: I’m guessing the ironic cultural commentary is unintentional. And then:

I am a pro-victory Associate Professor of Political Science teaching in Southern California. I love my country, and I fully support current U.S. military operations around the world. I despise the hard-left radical agenda and discourse. I also abhor irrationalism in argumentation. I welcome comments and debate, and I’ll defend my positions vigorously. Yet in friendship, you’ll find no one more trustworthy nor loyal; in battle you’ll find an umatched competitor whose tactical elan would make Machiavelli proud.

He does not mention his ultraviolet smoke belt in ninjutsu.

I guess I’m just not used to active faculty in institutions of higher education advertising their sexuality online, or making extravagant claims about their battle prowess. Or swearing at people in comment fora. Perhaps this is the healthy way of the future. But it does make him look an awful lot like an unshaven, undies-surfing internet douchebag. Apparently he teaches at Long Beach City/Community College (a fact about which he seems oddly cagey and non-specific), which is no doubt a fine institution that respects the freedom of speech of all of its faculty and is unburdened by the urge to bowdlerize its faculty’s websites, and good on ’em for that.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

